· 

DUBLIN & UCD

Hey folks,

here I am Dublin-experienced :)

Today I finally went to Dublin, the trip I was looking forward to so long. When I got up in the morning at 5 o'clock I was excited right away, but it even got worse, when we finally arrived in Dublin. The train ride didn't seem to be too long so we actually were in Dublin quiet fast and I was totally flashed. In the bus that brought us to UCD I was constantly observing the city life around me. Cars stuck in the traffic, bikes sidling and people on their way to work or whatever they were doing. Even though, it was a grey day without any sun, I enjoyed looking at the many bridges and I especially loved the brick houses with the colourful doors. Lena and I agreed on the red, blue and mint green ones to be absolutely adorable. Once at UCD I was stunned how big the campus was! And there was literally everything. Restaurants, shops and a lake which must be nice to enjoy during summer. Blessedly, Lena and I found the O'Brien Science Centre. I registrated and still had some time left. Let's buy some jumpers :) Feeling way too young for university we both bought -giggling- UCD jumpers and I love mine already. Love, love, love it! As I then walked into O'Brien Science Centre and Lena sat down in a café I just talked to a girl who seemed to do the workshop as well. I just didn't want to be alone and she actually was very nice. & Can u imagine? She didn't notice that I am an exchange student until I told her - I still can't believe this :) The Astronomy and Space Science Workshop was really interesting. I already knew a lot of things but I found it really cool when the lector mentioned the frequently found gravitation waves. {They proof Einsteins general theory of relativity}! After listen to some aspects of Astronomy we actually could try to create a solar system, which is stable, on computers {the same ones that are used in ISS} and because this was some kind of game it was actually really hard. Then we were shown the main part where the astronomy students are and the man showed use some results of studies they did as well. Unfortunately, the 2 hours of the workshop were already over by then, but I found it really interesting and I think I really like UCD. Even though, I am not sure whether Astronomy is just always going to be a big passion of mine or even my job. But UCD is also offering interesting studies such as Genetics, Microbiology, International Languages and you can study Medicine there as well :) Before we went back to the bus we actually took photos in front of the lake, then we met nanny biddy and Sonya and drove back to Cork. Because Preston was crying and Sonya's sister asked her to come back home earlier we didn't get to walk through the city, but I am coming back and I at least saw the city while driving through it by bus {even seemed some attractive after visiting UCD}. & That's it pretty much. Tomorrow I am going to Cork, so expect some pics.

 

xxkasi